My interview with the beautiful Fatma bin Fahad the Emarati founder and  designer of Al Mayyasa Label.

Fatma : “Be What you Want and always ‘Mesmeric'”

 What is the best moment of the day?
Afternoon

Do you read design magazines?
Yes I do

 In your earlier years, how did you decide that you eventually wanted to become a designer?
I wasn’t, but I always have passion for fashion

What did your friends/family think when they saw your designs and original creations?
“Elegant, different and unique”… this is actually what I am looking for


 How do you put your chosen colors together?
Based on the inspiration, it always must link with the idea or the season color.

When you create something, what goes through your mind?
The overall look

You serve a wide range of colors and designs; when a woman is looking for something suitable to wear, how should they choose the outfit most suitable for them?
Women should determine their body shape & tone and should understand their favorite style then it will be easier for them to choose the best outfit.

Does the preparation of a season’s collection take time?
Yes… starting from inspiration, the history behind –if applicable- then translating this into sketches, finding the resources and sources, managing the production then marketing savvy to promote the collection. It is on going cycle and restless.

How do you intend women to feel when wearing AlMayyasa clothing?
Exclusivity and Elegant

What do you have to say to the next generation, particularly for those hoping to follow in your footsteps?

It might be an ideal way to turn a fashion hobby in to an enjoyable career, but they must earn and obtain the skills with a great deal of practice, and the skills necessary for a career in the fashion industry can take a long time to acquire.

How do you see Fashion in the Middle East ?
In developing stage

 Do you think fashion is getting the attention needed in the Middle East?
Not really, with the absence of the concerned association and authority of fashion is required to guide the fashion designer for further development and improvement.

To know more about your style :

What’s your favourite brand of shoes/clothes & make up? – I am shoes addicted and can fall with any brand if I love the style.Clothes I admire Donna Karen creations but still I wear any design I love. Makeup I love Guirlain

Who are your favorite designers? – There are many, Internationally I love John Galiano, Valentino and Donna Karen. ME I love Elie Saab, Zuhair Murad & George Hobika. UAE, I love Malaak revolution. But still there are many others which really many other creative designers

 What is your favourite perfume? – Ricci Ricci and Versace

 In which country you like to shop? – I love Milan and Dubai

What are your fashion idols? – H.H. Shaikha Mouza Al Misnad & Jennifer Lopez

Who helps you to choose your clothes? – Me & Me

What we can find in your hand bag? – My organizer, make up set, mobile, wallet, usp and car & home keys

 & My favourite question : what do you think about my blog? – I just came to know it but I guess I will be one of your followers.

To contact Fatma : Twitter , Facebook

